The Hogs Head Inn

Hawfinch Drive
Alnwick
Northumberland
NE66 2BF

01665 606576

TripAdvisor Traveler Rating:TripadvisorBased on 541 reviews
Find within approx miles of The Hogs Head Inn

Awards


Overview

A silver award winner in the prestigious North East England Tourism Awards, The Hog's Head Inn is a must visit place, whether you're a Harry Potter fan or simply looking to enjoy delicious food, a fantastic choice of drinks and a comfy place to stay.

Named after the Inn in Harry Potter books, the three star Hog’s Head Inn is just a short drive from Alnwick Castle – or Hogwarts in JK Rowling’s tales of the boy wizard and his friends – and the famous Alnwick Gardens and Treehouse. Offering exceptionally good food, free Wi-Fi and plenty of parking, The Hog’s Head Inn is a superb place to eat, drink, sleep and explore.

  • 53 en suite single, double, twin or family rooms. Prices (excluding seasonal offers) are per room and include a complimentary Northumberland breakfast.
  • Family friendly - children's play area and interconnecting family rooms 
  • Fully accessible
  • Customer lift
  • Pet friendly rooms 
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Free parking
  • Food served all day
  • NEW: Walk Inn breaks including key meals, welcome drink, self guided walking packs, picnic and accommodation 
The Hogs Head Inn features in the itinerary...
Grand Gardens

Room information for The Hogs Head Inn

Type Qty Capacity Guide price
Double ensuite room
(Double/Twin en-suite room)
44 2
£109.95
B&B per room per night
Min: £99.00 - Max: £144.95
Family ensuite room
(Family en-suite room, sleeps up to 4)
7 4
£149.95
B&B per room per night
Min: £149.95 - Max: £164.95
Family ensuite room
(Family en-suite room sleeps 6)
2 6
£154.95
B&B per room per night
Min: £139.00 - Max: £184.95
Total capacity: 128

From £49.95 per person per night, based on two people sharing.

All rooms except the family for 6 rooms can be sold as single occupancy.  

Special offers

Winter breaks - DBB from £49.95 pppn

Enjoy Northumberland at its unspoilt best with a cosy stay away at The Hog's Head Inn in Alnwick from just £49.95 per person, per night, including dinner, bed and breakfast. 

Early booking is strongly recommended to avoid disappointment. Prices vary according to room type. Book now on 0191 580 3610 (during office hours) or 01665 606 576 at all other times while you can book online, anytime. 

New Walk-Inn breaks at The Hog's Head Inn

Put your best foot forward with our all-new self-guided walking breaks at The Hog's Head Inn. 

With the Simonside Hills, Cheviots and the outstanding Northumberland coast nearby, let us be your guide and show you a selection of the best walks around our award-winning inn.  

New Walk-Inn breaks include:

A welcoming drink on arrival
Two-course dinner
Picnic 
Waterproofed O/S walking pack with 20 classic walks around The Hog's Head Inn.

Walk-Inn breaks start from £89.50 (based on two people sharing)

So lace up your walking boots and book in now. 

Passenger lift at The Hogs Head Inn Inn Accommodation Passenger lift
 at The Hogs Head Inn Inn Accommodation Wheelchair friendly
Evening meals at The Hogs Head Inn Inn Accommodation Evening meals
Licenced premises at The Hogs Head Inn Inn Accommodation Licenced premises
Packed lunches available at The Hogs Head Inn Inn Accommodation Packed lunches available
Restaurant / cafe on site at The Hogs Head Inn Inn Accommodation Restaurant / Cafe on site
Tea / coffee facilities at The Hogs Head Inn Inn Accommodation Tea / Coffee facilities
Child / family friendly at The Hogs Head Inn Inn Accommodation Family friendly
Childrens facilities at The Hogs Head Inn Inn Accommodation Childrens facilities
Celebrity/historic connection at The Hogs Head Inn Inn Accommodation Celebrity/historic connection
Car parking available at The Hogs Head Inn Inn Accommodation Car parking available
Coach parking available at The Hogs Head Inn Inn Accommodation Coach parking available
Cycle friendly at The Hogs Head Inn Inn Accommodation Cycle friendly
Online booking at The Hogs Head Inn Inn Accommodation Book online
Credit / debit cards accepted at The Hogs Head Inn Inn Accommodation Credit / debit cards accepted
Cycle friendly at The Hogs Head Inn Inn Accommodation Cycle friendly
Dogs / pets allowed at The Hogs Head Inn Inn Accommodation Pet friendly
En-suite at The Hogs Head Inn Inn Accommodation En-suite
Evening meals at The Hogs Head Inn Inn Accommodation Evening meals
Ground floor bedrooms at The Hogs Head Inn Inn Accommodation Ground floor bedrooms
Hairdryer available at The Hogs Head Inn Inn Accommodation Hairdryer
Licenced premises at The Hogs Head Inn Inn Accommodation Licenced premises
Linen provided at The Hogs Head Inn Inn Accommodation Linen provided
Open all year at The Hogs Head Inn Inn Accommodation Open all year
Packed lunches available at The Hogs Head Inn Inn Accommodation Packed lunches available
Passenger lift at The Hogs Head Inn Inn Accommodation Passenger lift
Reduced rates for children at The Hogs Head Inn Inn Accommodation Reduced rates for children
Restaurant / cafe on site at The Hogs Head Inn Inn Accommodation Restaurant / Cafe on site
Short breaks available at The Hogs Head Inn Inn Accommodation Short breaks available
Special diets catered for at The Hogs Head Inn Inn Accommodation Special diets catered for
Tea / coffee facilities at The Hogs Head Inn Inn Accommodation Tea / Coffee facilities
TV available at The Hogs Head Inn Inn Accommodation Television
 at The Hogs Head Inn Inn Accommodation Wheelchair friendly
WiFi available at The Hogs Head Inn Inn Accommodation WiFi
Dark Sky Friendly at The Hogs Head Inn Inn Accommodation Dark Sky Friendly
Sleep quality
Sleep quality
Value
Value
Service
Service
Rooms
Rooms
Cleanliness
Cleanlinessy
Location
Location
Certificate of ExcellenceCertificate of ExcellenceCertificate of ExcellenceCertificate of Excellence
tripadvisor
23/12/2017

Midweek lunch


Jim H, Amble, United Kingdom
3 of us visited here for a midweek lunch and although we are local 2 of us had never been here before. It was particularly chosen because of easy access (one of us has mobility issues) and easy parking. It is situated to the south of the town opposite the industrial estate and with easy access from A1. We were impressed by the layout of the spacious bar / dining area with plenty of room between tables. Staff are friendly and once orders were taken at the bar the meals were delivered to our table quite quickly. Prices are on a par with pubs in the town and a la carte menus are the norm. Although the food was ok, if only my wife and I were dining we would choose other locations where we know similar fare with a greater choice of vegetarian options are cheaper. This is also a travel lodge type establishment.

The Hogs Head Inn replied: Thank you for your review, I am pleased you enjoyed your experience. We do have 12 vegetarian options on our menu and do try to meet all of our customers expectations. We do hope to see you again soon.
tripadvisor
29/11/2017

A lovely find


PaulaScot, Scotland
Travelling north on the A1 we decided to stop at a service station for some food, and behind the nasty fast food places (that we would probably have avoided) was this lovely modern welcoming-looking building. Thought maybe it would be closed, but it was open and serving meals. Had gluten free fish and chips, a real treat (twice in one week, usually once in every 3 months). We all enjoyed our food and would definitely return. Staff were lovely and friendly.

The Hogs Head Inn replied: So pleased you have enjoyed your experience with us! Thank you for leaving this great review and we do hope to see you again soon!
tripadvisor
28/11/2017

Very expensive for children’s meals


K8flynn,
Myself husband and 2 little girls visited the Hogs Head inn Sunday 26th November, we glanced at the menu and decided what we would like. Let me start with the positive the food was delicious and couldn’t fault the staff.  My husband opened a tab that I paid off after our lovely meals and left, when I got in the car I looked at the recipt and thought £6.95 for a child’s fish and chips was rather steep with no drink included ect, so I went online and looked at menus and surely enough it states £6.95, however this is meant to include a starter and a desert, which at no point we were made aware of or offered. I feel very let down and a little ripped off by this as paid £7.80 for 1 child’s meal and a drink (cordial and soda) I regret to say after how lovely the food was that I would hesitate to return again paying prices like this for 1 x child’s main course and a drink and not being offered any thing else that we had obviously missed.

The Hogs Head Inn replied: We can only apologise for an oversight or misunderstanding on our behalf that the offer was not pointed out to you. We sincerely do hope that you will return to enjoy another lovely meal with us and your family. Some children do not wish to have the entire package of all three courses. While the offer is set out on there menu with the options for each course, we will ensure as best practice that staff are guided to confirm with adults ordering children’s meals whether or not they wish to have all three elements of this offer. Apologies again for the misunderstanding.
tripadvisor
21/11/2017

Good value


516rachela, Cumbria, United Kingdom
Friend and I stayed on the DB&B offer. This was excellent value for money. Means both evenings were excellent quality, service was quick and hassle free. Restaurant and room were clean and well decorated. The restaurant is very spacious and plenty of choice for where to sit. On the minus side, definitely losing a star, we chose this hotel because of being 'dog friendly'. However, this isn't really the case. There is no seating area at all for dogs so we had to leave him in the room to eat. This made me uncomfortable, I didn't want him barking and disturbing other guests and neither did I want him being distressed being left alone in this strange room. The alternative was to eat in our rooms. It was really disappointing because we planned on just hanging out, keeping in the warm, having drinks and snacks, reading, chatting... But with the dog! With the bar and restaurant being so big I really don't get why dogs aren't welcome in at least one bit. Part of the 'dog friendly' experience is chatting with other owners, enjoying the atmosphere... Not hiding in our rooms eating off trays! If this changes, I'd definitely stay here again. Another minus point was position of room. I did ask for quiet part of the hotel, but didn't realise this was as far as possible from the door, so it was a bit stressful making sure the dog got out to widdle before it was too late! And while room was in quiet area near car park, unfortunately the car park seems to be a local pick up zone so noise of young people hanging about in their cars did disturb us. In the morning the car park was littered with Macdonald's debris so I think people go there over the road and then go to hotel car park to eat it noisily!! Breakfast wasn't all that, but the evening meals were so good didn't mind that so much. So no real complaints, just really disappointed at the 'dog friendly' experience.

The Hogs Head Inn replied: Thank you for leaving this review, I am so sorry to read you have not enjoyed your experience with us. All of our ground floor rooms are dog friendly, if you wish to eat with your dog we do have a large sheltered eating area outside. Unfortunately with our bar/restaurant area being opened planned, we cannot have dogs in this area. Again I am so sorry you have not enjoyed your experience with us but we do hope you give us another try.
tripadvisor
20/11/2017

Overnight stay for a wedding


haleywoodcock, Runcorn, United Kingdom
We travelled nearly 4 hours to The Hog's Inn to stay for a wedding at The Tree House, we were made very welcome when we arrived. The hotel is lovely, very modern, clean and well presented. The staff are very friendly and nothing is too much trouble. Breakfast was brilliant, lots to choose from and continuously refreshed with hot food. Highly recommend staying here if you are travelling this way.

The Hogs Head Inn replied: Thank you for leaving this great review, I am so pleased to read you enjoyed your experience with us and we would love to see you returning in the near future!

Facebook

Follow us on Twitter


https://images.visitnorthumberland.com/The-Hogs-Head-Inn/vn-medium-The-Hogs-Head-Inn.jpghttps://images.visitnorthumberland.com/The-Hogs-Head-Inn/vn-medium-The-Hogs-Head-Inn.jpginfo@hogsheadinnalnwick.co.uk

Photo: https://images.visitnorthumberland.com/The-Hogs-Head-Inn/vn-medium-The-Hogs-Head-Inn.jpg

URL: http://www.hogsheadinnalnwick.co.uk


Search for accommodation

Search for things to do

Search for events

Sign up for our newsletter


Discover our dark skies at #NlandStars
Tourist Information Centres in Northumberland
Late availability noticeboard