Named after the Inn in Harry Potter books, The three star Hog’s Head Inn is just a short drive from Alnwick Castle – or Hogwarts in JK Rowling’s tales of the boy wizard and his friends – and the famous Alnwick Gardens and Treehouse. Offering exceptionally good food, free Wi-Fi and plenty of parking, The Hog’s Head Inn is a brand new place to eat, drink, sleep and explore.
Open all year
Special diets catered for
stacey k, county durham
Quick pit stop for lunch, great selection on the menu. Kids orations are not the best, they are really small. My 9 year old was shocked so he ended up with some of mine. Quite pricey too.
We booked the Hogs Head as a base for visiting the Alnwick area and stayed for two nights. The hotel is very conveniently located just off the A1 - however there was no problem with traffic noise. The rooms are clean, comfortable and modern as befits a relatively new hotel. The bar / restaurant area is well laid out and comfortable and the menu offers a reasonable choice although it's typical pub type food. Breakfast was self service. The staff are extremely efficient - as they seem to do everything from reception to serving behind the bar to waiting tables - but also very pleasant and helpful. All in all we were very pleased with our stay and wouldn't hesitate to recommend to others. A good value comfortable hotel in a very good location for sightseeing in the area.
The Hogs Head Inn replied: Thank you for leaving this review and for recommending us! So pleased to hear you thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us and we do hope hope to see you again soon!
Mouldy old Dough
geeb2002, Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
We were staying for a 2-night mid week break with another couple and decided to eat in the hotel for the first night's meal. Our friends ordered a soup starter which was full of flavour and was going fine until the lady in the group happened to turn the bread over and found a very large and obvious growth of mould. The staff hurriedly took the bread away and we continued on with the meal. (Well mould can't kill you!). We live in a claim culture but didn't make a fuss. The staff deducted a soup and main course from the bill, but needless to say we went out for our meals on the second night. The staff were very friendly and attentive, though they did seem to struggle a little with the breakfast rush. The accommodation is clean and functional and the stay overall was acceptable. Not sure if we will return however.
The Hogs Head Inn replied: Thank you for your review, I am sorry to read about the incident you encountered during your meal, I am pleased this was rectified and taken off your bill. We do hope to see you again in the future.
Poor food but helpful staff.
SarahW929, Kendal, United Kingdom
When trying to book a table we struggled to get through on the phone, which was surprising given that the place was nearly empty when we got there. The waitresses were pleasant, but unfortunately the food did not live up to expectations. We ordered garlic bread for a starter to share. The garlic bread was quite expensive at £5.95 which would have been fine had it been well made. It was obvious it was a shop bought pizza base, which the kids commented was not nice! We ate what we could - it is surprising what you eat when you're hungry. My children had ordered pizza for a main meal and I was concerned about what they would end up with. I was right to be concerned. I am not sure if the whole of the pizza was from a supermarket but certainly the bases were as it was hard to cut and had the texture of cardboard. Half of the meals were fine but when you're paying restaurant prices you expect a certain standard. We were asked if everything was ok but felt it would have hard to tell the truth as it would have upset our children and really spoilt the evening. My advice would be to take pizza off the menu or invest in a pizza oven!
The Hogs Head Inn replied: Thank you for leaving these comments. Every morning deliveries come with our fresh food, all of which is home made - Not from supermarkets, I assure you. Had you mentioned to a member of our team at The Hog's Head Inn when you were table checked, we would have happily changed it for you. If something is not quite right with your meal, we would always far rather know at the time so we can rectify promptly to make your experience with us a good one! We do hope hope you come back to give us another try.
Good food , slow service
This is part of a chain of pubs owned by a group in the north east, a mixture of old buildings which have been restored and renovated, or brand newbuilds such as this one. It's got a very homely feel with comfortable armchairs and bench seating. The food is of good quality and they do their best to source everything locally. We visited for breakfast, they have a buffet breakfast early in the morning but by the time we arrived we had missed that, and we had breakfasts cooked to order which did take a very long time but were tasty and of good quality
The Hogs Head Inn replied: Thank you for leaving this review, we do hope to welcome you back to The Hog's Head Inn in the near future.