Battlesteads

Wark
Hexham
Northumberland
NE48 3LS

01434 230209

TripAdvisor Traveler Rating:TripadvisorBased on 386 reviews
Find within approx miles of Battlesteads

Awards

Dark Sky Stay & Gaze Award

Overview

Whatever your taste buds delight in, spoil them rotten at Battlesteads pub, hotel and restaurant in Wark, near Hexham.

Most of the food is either grown on site in the two acre gardens and two polytunnels or sourced from artisan producers within 25 miles of the hotel. And it’s all cooked to order by head chef Eddie Shilton and his team.

Originally built as a farmstead in 1747, Battlesteads is now the greenest hotel in Northumberland with multi-award winning eco credentials. Interested guests can enjoy a tour of the green installations, while others simply enjoy the guilt-free pleasure of great food, locally-brewed beer, organic and biodynamic wines and comfy accommodation – all without the chemicals!

Battlesteads offers three options for an eating experience – a more relaxed affair in the bar area; views of the garden and some wildlife-spotting from the conservatory; or a more formal, intimate experience in the main restaurant with its dark wood furnishings and low lighting.

There is ample parking on site and secure storage for cycles.

See the website for latest offers and short breaks.

Car parking available at Battlesteads Restaurant Eating Out Car parking available
Credit / debit cards accepted at Battlesteads Restaurant Eating Out Credit / debit cards accepted
Licenced premises at Battlesteads Restaurant Eating Out Licenced premises
Open all year at Battlesteads Restaurant Eating Out Open all year
WiFi available at Battlesteads Restaurant Eating Out WiFi
Special diets catered for at Battlesteads Restaurant Eating Out Special diets catered for
Log fire / Open fireplace at Battlesteads Restaurant Eating Out Log fire / Open fireplace
Guest garden at Battlesteads Restaurant Eating Out Garden for guest use
Dogs / pets allowed at Battlesteads Restaurant Eating Out Pet friendly
Cycle friendly at Battlesteads Restaurant Eating Out Cycle friendly
Walker friendly at Battlesteads Restaurant Eating Out Walker friendly
Certificate of ExcellenceCertificate of ExcellenceCertificate of ExcellenceCertificate of ExcellenceCertificate of ExcellenceCertificate of Excellence
tripadvisor
16/01/2018

Lovely stay


marcyNorthYorkshire, north yorkshire
We had a 2 night stay at this hotel with an evening at the on site observatory followed by an evening sampling the 8 course tasting menu . We enjoyed everything and our only quibble was that our room was rather small.
tripadvisor
08/01/2018

Nice Menu, Good Food, Great Staff


Craigside,
We stayed locally and visited here for Sunday evening meal. Pleasantly surprised, welcoming friendly staff, interesting menu, excellent food and great service. We had considered booking to stay here but had expected it to maybe be a bit ‘doggy’ as it promotes itself as ‘dog friendly’. However we asked the Manager Morag and she explained that yes they accommodate dogs but in designated accommodations, so they have ‘non-dog’ rooms as well. Worth knowing because it’s very nice, the staff are great and we would stay here...
tripadvisor
07/01/2018

Don't use a gift voucher to pay!


Jen-Murray C,
Visited with a friend this afternoon for Sunday lunch as we had a gift voucher to use. After a pretty mediocre lunch we went to pay with the £50 gift voucher, our bill came to £33 but staff told us there was no way they could give us a credit for the remaining amount, when we queried this another member of staff who I assume was in a more senior position confirmed this and suggested we pay by cash and use the voucher another time, as we had no intention of returning this was not possible. This hotel! has won an award for the best hotel in Northumberland, I have no idea how as there are many more worthy hotels than this.....maybe the award should have been for robbing customers blind! enjoy your £17 tip!

Battlesteads replied: Thank you for your review We are sorry our staff misunderstood your request for a credit to be that of cash. Which you will understand is not possible in any outlet / establishment when paying for a transaction with a gift voucher. This is why they suggested you pay in cash or card on this occasion and keep the full voucher amount for another visit. If a request for a credit in the form of gift vouchers, had been realised at the time, we would have been quite happy to sort this out for you. With that said, if you would like to get in touch with us, via email or phone we can still arrange of the balance of the gift voucher to be sent to you.
tripadvisor
12/12/2017

Very Disappointed - Odd Behaviour - Not Value for Money - Left Still Hungry!


Bob_Harrogate, Harrogate
Decided to try Battlesteads after recommendation, bought a Groupon taster menu voucher and observatory "deal" for £49 - Drove a long way to get there, and it felt awkward from the start. The waitresses pointed at every item on my plate, explaining what it was - "This is broccoli"....for each course...almost touching my food. The soup was in an expresso mug, the seabass fillet was approx. 2inches square. ….Each course was so small, we came away still hungry. We were hurried through the courses, and then as we had finished within 45 minutes, we went through to the bar to pay for the drinks, and were told to walk up to the observatory as it was starting soon. So we started to walk up the path, no signage, no staff, in the dark...there was lighting but we didn't know where to go. The apparently the staff then chased us up the path for not paying our drinks bill. We continued up the path, where the observatory was set out in a lecture style with all doors open, in minus 4 degrees, with people all sat in coats and hats and gloves….Having just recovered from bronchitis, I decided to head back to the bar, not knowing what the format was. At which point the waitress shouted that she had chased us up the path as we hadn’t paid our bill, which was very embarrassing. So it all cost just about £100 and with the long drive there and back – We came away hungry, we didn’t do the observatory experience (even though it was part of the “deal”), as it was not explained that it was technically “outside”. All in all, very disappointed, with some really awkward moments, not value for money, came away still hungry. They could have offered us bread or more vegetables (one small stalk of broccoli isn’t really enough) without affecting their GP% surely? Any welcome drinks shown on the menu, were only part of the additional drinks package @ £17.95 per head, and you get told that very abruptly if you don’t opt for the drinks paring package! I have emailed them the morning after, and not had any response.

Battlesteads replied: Thank you for your review, we are sorry to read the Travelzoo experience you purchased didn’t live up to your expectations. We have not received any correspondence from yourself since your visit, hence why you have not had a response. Our 5 course taster menu receives extremely good customer feedback, we are sorry to read the portion sizes weren’t to your liking. With any taster menu experience, matched wines are always an addition or the taster menu, is costed at a much higher price to include the matched wines. We are sorry you feel we are the only restaurant who follow these principles. Regarding the dark sky observatory element of your experience, we have wrongly presumed, that all customers would understand, to facilitate this activity, they would need to dress appropriately for being mainly outside to look at the stars, galaxies and planets through our telescopes or seeing the Milky Way with the naked eye.
tripadvisor
10/12/2017

Really tasty!


Toni-ann G,
We had the sharing menu and although small, was very tasty. The place looks lovely and staff are friendly and helpful.

Follow us on Twitter


https://images.visitnorthumberland.com/Battlesteads-Hexham/vn-medium-battlesteads.jpghttps://images.visitnorthumberland.com/Battlesteads-Hexham/vn-medium-battlesteads.jpginfo@battlesteads.com

Photo: https://images.visitnorthumberland.com/Battlesteads-Hexham/vn-medium-battlesteads.jpg

URL: http://www.battlesteads.com


Search for things to do

Search for events

Search for accommodation

Sign up for our newsletter


Discover our dark skies at #NlandStars
Tourist Information Centres in Northumberland
Late availability noticeboard