'Our' Vera up against Rankin's Rebus in battle to be crowned the nation's favourite detective

The shortlist for the Dead Good Reader Awards has been announced and local bestselling author Ann Cleeves’ much-loved Vera Stanhope is up against detectives created by JK Rowling, Jo Nesbo and Ian Rankin.

Vera, the star of Cleeves’ award-winning books and now ITV’s major drama series starring Brenda Blethyn, has been winning hearts for her quirky, strong-willed ways. Her inclusion on the prestigious shortlist proves that Vera truly is one of Britain’s best-loved fictional detectives.

Vera has become something of an ambassador for the North-East as Cleeves’ series set in Northumberland powerfully depicts the stunning beauty of the county and warmth of the community and ITV are currently filming the sixth series.

The shortlist in full (in alphabetical order):

Lacey Flint, created by Sharon Bolton

Vera Stanhope, created by Ann Cleeves

Cormoran Strike, created by Robert Galbraith

Harry Hole, created by Jo Nesbo

John Rebus, created by Ian Rankin

David Raker, created by Tim Weaver

The winner of the nation’s favourite detective will be decided by a public vote and readers can champion and support ‘our’ Vera by voting online at:


Voting closes on 16th July.