Macdonald Linden Hall Golf & Country Club

Longhorsley
Morpeth
Northumberland
NE65 8XF

01670 500011

TripAdvisor Traveler Rating:TripadvisorBased on 2034 reviews
Find within approx miles of Macdonald Linden Hall Golf & Country Club

Overview

There's something for everyone at Macdonald Linden Hall's 18 hole championship course. With beautiful views of the surrounding woodlands, Linden Hall is ideal for a golf break, corporate day or just a day out with friends or societies.

Linden Hall also boosts a fabulous chipping and practice area along with a 5 bay driving range.  The Professional Shop is also on site for all of your golfing needs, including lessons with our PGA Professional Gordon Morrison.

 


Macdonald Linden Hall Golf & Country Club takes place at ...
Macdonald Linden Hall Golf & Country Club, Morpeth(Hotel)
 at Macdonald Linden Hall Golf & Country Club Golf Activity Wheelchair friendly
Licenced premises at Macdonald Linden Hall Golf & Country Club Golf Activity Licenced premises
Picnic area at Macdonald Linden Hall Golf & Country Club Golf Activity Picnic area
Restaurant / cafe on site at Macdonald Linden Hall Golf & Country Club Golf Activity Restaurant / Cafe on site
Tea / coffee facilities at Macdonald Linden Hall Golf & Country Club Golf Activity Tea / Coffee facilities
Child / family friendly at Macdonald Linden Hall Golf & Country Club Golf Activity Family friendly
Historic/arcitectural interest at Macdonald Linden Hall Golf & Country Club Golf Activity Historic/architectural interest
Leisure facilities at Macdonald Linden Hall Golf & Country Club Golf Activity Leisure/Swimming facilities
Car parking available at Macdonald Linden Hall Golf & Country Club Golf Activity Car parking available
Coach parking available at Macdonald Linden Hall Golf & Country Club Golf Activity Coach parking available
Cycle friendly at Macdonald Linden Hall Golf & Country Club Golf Activity Cycle friendly
Online booking at Macdonald Linden Hall Golf & Country Club Golf Activity Book online
Credit / debit cards accepted at Macdonald Linden Hall Golf & Country Club Golf Activity Credit / debit cards accepted
Cycle friendly at Macdonald Linden Hall Golf & Country Club Golf Activity Cycle friendly
Gift shop on site at Macdonald Linden Hall Golf & Country Club Golf Activity Gift shop on site
Leisure facilities at Macdonald Linden Hall Golf & Country Club Golf Activity Leisure/Swimming facilities
Licenced premises at Macdonald Linden Hall Golf & Country Club Golf Activity Licenced premises
Open all year at Macdonald Linden Hall Golf & Country Club Golf Activity Open all year
Reduced rates for children at Macdonald Linden Hall Golf & Country Club Golf Activity Reduced rates for children
Restaurant / cafe on site at Macdonald Linden Hall Golf & Country Club Golf Activity Restaurant / Cafe on site
Special diets catered for at Macdonald Linden Hall Golf & Country Club Golf Activity Special diets catered for
Tea / coffee facilities at Macdonald Linden Hall Golf & Country Club Golf Activity Tea / Coffee facilities
 at Macdonald Linden Hall Golf & Country Club Golf Activity Wheelchair friendly
WiFi available at Macdonald Linden Hall Golf & Country Club Golf Activity WiFi
Event venue at Macdonald Linden Hall Golf & Country Club Golf Activity Event venue
Certificate of ExcellenceCertificate of ExcellenceCertificate of Excellence
tripadvisor
14/02/2018

Really disappointed


Elginstar,
We arrived around 230. The receptionist, who was very friendly, told us our room would not be ready till 3pm. That was fine as I know the room was not booked till 3pm. We went for a drink and came back to reception around 315 and was told the room would not be ready till 4pm! We actually didn’t finally got our room until 415! I then asked if I could have a late checkout due to our delayed check in and was told I could have an extra hour (even though we were delayed by 1hr 15 min) but surely I shouldn’t have had to ask! After getting our room we went straight to the spa, only to be told the pool was full and no one else could go in! Had we got our room on time it maybe would not have been full! We decided to go to the gym so went to the changing rooms. The locker said £1 coin so I put my things in a locker with a £1 coin but the coin got stuck. I went to reception to say my coin was stuck and was then told the lockers only take the old £1 coins or a token!!!! Why hadn’t the spa staff told me that earlier?!!! After a staff member finally freed my coin he then told me they actually had no tokens available and were trying to obtain some more but had to locate the spa manager first!! I was trying really hard to stay calm at this point! After waiting 10 min and still no tokens I came back to my room frustrated and annoyed! This was a birthday treat from my wife and within 2 hours of arriving I wanted to leave! We did go back to the pool the next morning but was disappointed. The changing rooms were a poor standard, the jacuzzi was v small and had sand in it, and the steam room & sauna were little more than luke warm! Dinner I have to say was really very good, and so was breakfast. Both were very tasty and with very good staff service in a lovely dining room. Our bedroom was also really nice - spacious, comfortable and clean. The morning we were leaving, having the extra hour late checkout, we went to the gym and came back to the room at 1115 only to find our room door cards had been deactivated so we had to get reception to give is new cards! The final little annoyance to finish our stay! Summary - a mixture of really good and really bad and not what I expect from a MacDonald!

Macdonald Linden Hall Golf & Country Club replied: Dear reviewer Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of our Hotel. I am sorry that your room was not available for your arrival and until 4.15pm, this is not our usual practice and I apologise. We are aware of the issues with the Spa and Leisure club and are working hard to get these rectified as soon as possible, I am sorry that you encountered so many problems when trying to use the facilities. I am pleased that you enjoyed your dinner and breakfast and that you found the service good and that your bedroom was to your liking. The key cards automatically cut off at 11am, something we cannot change but someone should have informed you of this when you were given your late checkout. I hope that you will return in the future so that we can show you the improvements we are making and that this is not standard of a stay at Macdonald Linden Hall.
tripadvisor
13/02/2018

Disappointing


amanda c, County Durham, United Kingdom
Stayed for a weekend for our wedding anniversary. Very disappointing. Beautiful place let to go down hill. Paid extra to upgrade our room, views were lovely, but the room was below standard. Bathroom very run down with cracked tiles, a fan ran from 6.30am every morning and went constantly till about 11.30pm, we think it came from the kitchen, when we asked if we could pay to change room we were told we were unable too (the noise was awful) The restaurant was ok, but nothing flash and it was the same menu for both nights we were there, with not a great choice. Breakfast was disgusting. I tried to take the black pudding off my plate, but it had been cooked in that much oil, it just turned to slop and you couldn't pick it up. Spa, well if your expecting anything flash, just don't go. Changing rooms very run down and not very clean. Steam room, never found the steam yet and the sauna didn't get very hot (they did have a sign up saying there was a problem) On the plus side the 2 foreign members of staff in the restaurant were so pleasant, they seemed to work long hours, but were always smiling and 1 lady on reception was very helpful. If your looking for anything special, this is not the place to go.

Macdonald Linden Hall Golf & Country Club replied: Dear reviewer Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. I am sorry that the room was not as expected, I will investigate the noise from the fan. I have passed on your comments about the menu and breakfast to the chef. We are aware of the problems in the spa and do have an engineer booked to attend. I'm pleased to hear that the members of staff you encountered were helpful and pleasant and will pass this onto them.
tripadvisor
12/02/2018

Dissapointing Stay


540Amy, Durham, England, United Kingdom
We stayed here February for an early Valentine's weekend. When we arrived the bedroom was set in two single beds, the throw had a mark on that looked like glue however I wasn't wanting to guess, and the bath had plastic chipped out of it so I wasn't wanting to lie in it.. reported these things to reception and they changed the beds to a double, they turned the throw around so that the mark was nearer to the floor and hopefully out of our sight and nothing was said about the bathroom. we then went into the spa and it is very run down and needs allot of upgrading! Jacuzzi was only able to fit 4 people in at any one time and was full of sand which there was a notice about this however I'm unsure as to why this hasn't been emptied out and sorted? The steam room (if you can call it that) feels more like your sat in someone's conservatory with not allot of steam at all.. Changing rooms are not up to standard for a 4 star hotel, feels more like your in a public swimming baths and there isn't enough seating around the pool for the amount of people they let in. Back to the room for a lovely hot shower after the spa.. which turned out to be luke warm to almost cold :( Lounge had a small menu for dinner therefore we booked into the Dobson restaurant. We had a few cocktails and pre ordered before going to the table and only ordered a main course however we were still waiting over 1 hour for our food to arrive! Expensive and when it came not allot on the plate. Breakfast the next morning was fine and did fill us up this time! Views from room were lovely, big open fires were great and grounds are kept nice however won't be returning.

Macdonald Linden Hall Golf & Country Club replied: Dear reviewer Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I am sorry that your room was not as booked, I'm glad that reception were able to change the bed for you. We are aware that some rooms need repairs and are continuously working on this. We are aware of the problems at the Spa, unfortunately emptying the water and sand like material out of the Jacuzzi does not solve the problem. We do have a specialist engineer booked to come out as soon as possible to deal with the Jacuzzi, Sauna and Steam Room. I have passed on your comments to the Chef and Food and Beverage Manager regarding the dinner and lounge menu and am sorry that you had such a long delay in service. I do hope that you consider giving us another chance in the future so that we can prove that this is not our normal standard of service.
tripadvisor
11/02/2018

A jewel in the Northumberland crown


D4370PVkatew,
A great over night stay with my 10 year old, staff welcoming and caring, food great, we will be back. Views breathtaking, and real fires added to the cosy feel. Pool an added bonus - a great relaxing time

Macdonald Linden Hall Golf & Country Club replied: Dear reviewer Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel. We are please you and your 10 year old enjoyed your stay with use. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
tripadvisor
11/02/2018

Weekend stay


weirdfiz,
As usual the Macdonald hospitality is spot on. The layout reminds me a bit of Gisbourough Hall, but thats not all bad. Our meal was exellent 'nose bouche' starters main courses mine was an excellent ribeye all done to a tee. The mushroom orzo pasta risotto was a treat. Our room was up to Macdonald standard and as expected was comfortable. The only thing a bit disappointing was theres no draft beer and still using plastic straws. (Hopefully planet friendly straws are in the pipeline.) A crafted local brew would have set things off just nicely though. Breakfast was typically plentiful with good choice. A retirn is likely.

Macdonald Linden Hall Golf & Country Club replied: Dear reviewer Thank you for taking the time to leave us and review and for all of your kind words. We are pleased you enjoyed the food and accommodation. I have passed on your comments about the craft beer and straws to our Food and Beverage Manager. We hope to welcome you again in the near future.

Follow us on Twitter


https://images.visitnorthumberland.com/Macdonald-Linden-Hall-Golf-Country-Club-Morpeth/vn-medium-Golf-course-at-Linden-Hall.jpghttps://images.visitnorthumberland.com/Macdonald-Linden-Hall-Golf-Country-Club-Morpeth/vn-medium-Golf-course-at-Linden-Hall.jpggolf.lindenhall@macdonald-hotels.co.uk

Photo: https://images.visitnorthumberland.com/Macdonald-Linden-Hall-Golf-Country-Club-Morpeth/vn-medium-Golf-course-at-Linden-Hall.jpg

URL: http://www.macdonaldhotels.co.uk/lindenHall/golf/


Search for things to do

Search for events

Search for accommodation

Sign up for our newsletter


Discover our dark skies at #NlandStars
Tourist Information Centres in Northumberland
Late availability noticeboard