Carraw Bed and Breakfast

Carraw Farm
Military Road
Humshaugh
Hexham
Northumberland
NE46 4DB

+44 01434 689857

TripAdvisor Traveler Rating:TripadvisorBased on 302 reviews
Find within approx miles of Carraw Bed and Breakfast

Awards

NEETA boutique accom Visit Britain Gold Award The National Accessible Scheme Mobility 3a The National Accessible Scheme Mobility 2 The National Accessible Scheme Mobility 1 Visit Britain Walkers Welcome Visit Britain Cyclists Welcome Visit Britain Breakfast Award

Overview

Kevin and Leah Vigars would love to welcome you to Carraw Bed and Breakfast, a luxury Four Star Gold Awarded Bed and Breakfast Guest House, located on a family run-working farm, in picturesque Northumberland.Carraw Bed and Breakfast, is one of the finest luxury Northumberland Guest Houses, situated on the foundations of Hadrian’s Wall, with a sublime hilltop setting overlooking the countryside of Northumberland National Park and the surrounding scenery of the North Pennines Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty. Carraw Bed and Breakfast, awarded 4 Star Gold by Visit Britain for outstanding service and quality, is one of the top Bed and Breakfast's in the area, offering superior Bed and Breakfast accommodation and short breaks in Northumberland. Carraw Bed and Breakfast is ideally situated for walking the Hadrian's Wall Path National Trail and cycling Hadrian's Cycleway or touring the delights of Northumberland and is close to all the major heritage attractions along Hadrian's Wall including: the Roman Forts at Chesters, Housesteads and Vindolanda. If you are looking for a relaxing or active break at any time of the year in England's Border Country, Carraw Bed and Breakfast is ideally situated to meet your needs. We will make you very welcome and ensure your stay is memorable.

Room information for Carraw Bed and Breakfast

Type Qty Capacity Guide price
Double ensuite room
(Deluxe Double Ensuite Bathroom - Lodge)
2 2
£110.00
B&B per room per night
Min: £100.00 - Max: £110.00
Double ensuite room
(Superior Double ensuite room - Lodge)
1 2
£100.00
B&B per room per night
Min: £93.00 - Max: £100.00
Double ensuite room
(Superior Double/Twin Accessible - Lodge)
1 2
£100.00
B&B per room per night
Min: £93.00 - Max: £100.00
Twin ensuite room
(Superior Twin ensuite room - Farmhouse)
2 2
£100.00
B&B per room per night
Min: £93.00 - Max: £100.00
Double ensuite room
(Superior Double ensuite room - Farmhouse)
2 2
£100.00
B&B per room per night
Min: £93.00 - Max: £100.00
Double ensuite room
(Double ensuite room - Farmhouse)
2 2
£87.50
B&B per room per night
(£67.50 single occupancy)
Min: £80.00 - Max: £87.50
Family ensuite room
(Family Room (2 Adults & 1 Child up to 13yrs) - Farmhouse)
1 3
£125.00
B&B per room per night
Min: £116.25 - Max: £125.00
Family ensuite room
(Triple Room - Farmhouse)
1 3
£150.00
B&B per room per night
Min: £139.50 - Max: £150.00
Total capacity: 26

Special offers

Stay One Night Longer!

Why not stay a little longer with our reduced rate for 3 or more nights. 

Enjoy Hadrian's Wall this summer and experience everything that Northumberland National Park has to offer. Whether you like exploring forts and houses, taking leisurely walks in the country, or spending time at the many local events that take place, there’s something for everyone.

*Accommodation subject to our standard terms and conditions and availability. Offer available for stays taken between April 7th and October 29th 2017 inclusive.

Winter Offer (2017)

Looking for a Winter Getaway in Hadrian’s Wall Country? Carraw Bed and Breakfast cannot be beaten for relaxation or for location. Breathtaking views over open moorland, cosy sofas, great food and a relaxed laid back atmosphere make Carraw an ideal bolthole from the stresses of everyday life.

Stay at Carraw Bed and Breakfast for two nights and get the second night half price.

*Accommodation subject to our standard terms and conditions and availability. Offer available for stays taken between October 30th and December 2nd 2017 inclusive.

Three 4 Two (2017)

Looking for a Winter Getaway in Hadrian’s Wall Country? Carraw Bed and Breakfast cannot be beaten for relaxation or for location. Breathtaking views over open moorland, cosy sofas, great food and a relaxed laid back atmosphere make Carraw an ideal bolthole from the stresses of everyday life.

Stay at Carraw Bed and Breakfast for three nights and only pay for two.

*Accommodation subject to our standard terms and conditions and availability. Offer available for stays taken between October 30th and December 2nd 2017 inclusive

Winter Offer (2018)

Looking for a Winter Getaway in Hadrian’s Wall Country? Carraw Bed and Breakfast cannot be beaten for relaxation or for location. Breathtaking views over open moorland, cosy sofas, great food and a relaxed laid back atmosphere make Carraw an ideal bolthole from the stresses of everyday life.

Stay at Carraw Bed and Breakfast for two nights and get the second night half price.

*Accommodation subject to our standard terms and conditions and availability. Offer available for stays taken between February 2nd and March 22nd 2018 inclusive

Three 4 Two (2018)

Looking for a Winter Getaway in Hadrian’s Wall Country? Carraw Bed and Breakfast cannot be beaten for relaxation or for location. Breathtaking views over open moorland, cosy sofas, great food and a relaxed laid back atmosphere make Carraw an ideal bolthole from the stresses of everyday life.

Stay at Carraw Bed and Breakfast for three nights and only pay for two.

*Accommodation subject to our standard terms and conditions and availability. Offer available for stays taken between February 2nd and March 22nd inclusive

Stay One Night Longer! (2018)

Why not stay a little longer with our reduced rate for 3 or more nights. 

Enjoy Hadrian's Wall this summer and experience everything that Northumberland National Park has to offer. Whether you like exploring forts and houses, taking leisurely walks in the country, or spending time at the many local events that take place, there’s something for everyone.

*Accommodation subject to our standard terms and conditions and availability. Offer available for stays taken between March 23rd and October 28th 2018 inclusive.

Child / family friendly at Carraw Bed and Breakfast Bed & Breakfast Accommodation Family friendly
Sorry, we are unable to accommodate children in the Lodge
Evening meals at Carraw Bed and Breakfast Bed & Breakfast Accommodation Evening meals
Ploughman's Supper with Homemade Soup and Optional Homemade Desserts
Reduced rates for children at Carraw Bed and Breakfast Bed & Breakfast Accommodation Reduced rates for children
Up to 13 Years Old
Cycle friendly at Carraw Bed and Breakfast Bed & Breakfast Accommodation Cycle friendly
Secure overnight storage available
DVD player available at Carraw Bed and Breakfast Bed & Breakfast Accommodation DVD equipment
DVD Players in Farmhouse rooms and a extensive DVD library available to use during your stay
 at Carraw Bed and Breakfast Bed & Breakfast Accommodation Wheelchair friendly
Accessible ensuite room with walk in wet room available in the Lodge
Electric Car Charging at Carraw Bed and Breakfast Bed & Breakfast Accommodation Electric Car Charging Point
Type 1 Charging Point is available for all IEC62192 Mode 3 enabled vehicles (subject to charging connector type compatibility).
Special diets catered for at Carraw Bed and Breakfast Bed & Breakfast Accommodation Special diets catered for
Please do not hesistate to contact us to discuss any requirements
Licenced premises at Carraw Bed and Breakfast Bed & Breakfast Accommodation Licenced premises
Tea / coffee facilities at Carraw Bed and Breakfast Bed & Breakfast Accommodation Tea / Coffee facilities
Car parking available at Carraw Bed and Breakfast Bed & Breakfast Accommodation Car parking available
Online booking at Carraw Bed and Breakfast Bed & Breakfast Accommodation Book online
Credit / debit cards accepted at Carraw Bed and Breakfast Bed & Breakfast Accommodation Credit / debit cards accepted
En-suite at Carraw Bed and Breakfast Bed & Breakfast Accommodation En-suite
Guest garden at Carraw Bed and Breakfast Bed & Breakfast Accommodation Garden for guest use
Ground floor bedrooms at Carraw Bed and Breakfast Bed & Breakfast Accommodation Ground floor bedrooms
Hairdryer available at Carraw Bed and Breakfast Bed & Breakfast Accommodation Hairdryer
Log fire / Open fireplace at Carraw Bed and Breakfast Bed & Breakfast Accommodation Log fire / Open fireplace
Open all year at Carraw Bed and Breakfast Bed & Breakfast Accommodation Open all year
Packed lunches available at Carraw Bed and Breakfast Bed & Breakfast Accommodation Packed lunches available
Residents lounge at Carraw Bed and Breakfast Bed & Breakfast Accommodation Residents lounge
Special diets catered for at Carraw Bed and Breakfast Bed & Breakfast Accommodation Special diets catered for
TV available at Carraw Bed and Breakfast Bed & Breakfast Accommodation Television
Walker friendly at Carraw Bed and Breakfast Bed & Breakfast Accommodation Walker friendly
Laundry / washing facilities at Carraw Bed and Breakfast Bed & Breakfast Accommodation Washing machine / Laundry
WiFi available at Carraw Bed and Breakfast Bed & Breakfast Accommodation WiFi
Dark Sky Friendly at Carraw Bed and Breakfast Bed & Breakfast Accommodation Dark Sky Friendly
Sleep quality
Sleep quality
Value
Value
Service
Service
Rooms
Rooms
Cleanliness
Cleanlinessy
Location
Location
Certificate of ExcellenceCertificate of ExcellenceCertificate of ExcellenceCertificate of ExcellenceCertificate of Excellence
tripadvisor
11/10/2017

Perfect stay on Hadrian's Wall


David C, North Vancouver, Canada
Gracious and helpful host. Beautiful large clean rooms and bathrooms. Delicious food. Beer and wine available. Conveniently located halfway along Hadrian's Wall Trail. Lovely country surroundings. Thoroughly recommended.

Carraw Bed and Breakfast replied: Thank you for taking the time to write your review and recommendation. We are very pleased that you had a enjoyable overnight stay and everything met your needs / requirements. We hope you had a safe trip on departure and look forward to seeing you again in the future. Regards Kevin and Leah
tripadvisor
24/09/2017

Cold owner; won't be coming back.


Katie5510, Washington DC, District of Columbia
We are a family of four and stayed in this B&B during our visit to Hadrian's Wall. Leah, one of the owners, was quite sweet and lovely. Her husband, however (Kevin) was not. He was very cold to us during our stay and made some sarcastic remarks about the fact that we are Americans. When we came down to breakfast in the morning, he was very friendly and chatty to all the other guests - who were all from various European countries - and cold, distant, and sarcastic to us. It was quite noticeable; my husband and two teenagers noticed it immediately as well. The B&B is in a lovely location and fairly well appointed. It's just too bad the owner was not pleasant in the least. We'd love to revisit the area, but will definitely find a more welcoming place to stay.

Carraw Bed and Breakfast replied: Thank you for taking the time to write your review in relation to your family stay last year. We were sorry to read your comments. Due to the time taken to write the review we are unable to recollect the time of your stay or the details and can only apologise that you felt Kevin's comments / remarks were sarcastic and you consider that he was cold and distant to your family. This was not the intention.
tripadvisor
24/09/2017

Wonderful Bed and Breakfast


mgtnjm, morgantown
We enjoyed several nights in the Skylark room. Lovely comfortable room. Breakfast was very good. You pre order your breakfast the night before if you want hot meal. The lodge has a very comfortable sitting area to relax in. Very good place to stay if you are visiting sites along Hadrian's wall.

Carraw Bed and Breakfast replied: Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We are very pleased that you had a enjoyable, comfortable and relaxing stay, as well as enjoying your breakfast and the views. We hope you had a safe trip on departure and look forward to seeing you again in the future. Regards Kevin and Leah
tripadvisor
07/09/2017

lovely stay


peter p, wigan
We have just spent 3 days at the lodge(Snipe room) and enjoyed our time there.Breakfast was pre-ordered the day before and you stated what time you required it to be served(7-30 till 8-30). We booked for 8-15 and were served on time.Only query I had was why the wrap was left on the black pudding??. The lounge area gave you views over the rolling country side and the lodge was set in a very tranquil setting.The bedroom had a en-suite wet room and the owners supplied us with a chair to use under the shower.Would recommend this B&B to any one

Carraw Bed and Breakfast replied: Thank you for taking the time to write your review and your recommendation. We are very pleased that you had a enjoyable short break with us recently and that the breakfast met your requirements. We were sorry to read your comment as to why the black pudding arrives wrap,this is to ensure that the pudding stays in shape due to its consistency and we are informed is perfectly safe to cook that way. We look forward to seeing you again in the future. Regards Kevin and Leah.
tripadvisor
05/09/2017

Lovely spot, friendly welcome. Poor breakfast, lots of bugs.


Embibems, Offenbach, Germany
When we first pulled up, we were greeted by a very warm and lovely woman named Leah. She checked us in with expediency and showed us to our room in the guest cottage. Two beautiful second-floor rooms were made ready for us. We expected to sleep well since it was a nice, cool, rainy evening. I popped my windows open before heading out to dinner in Hexham proper. When I came back there were some bugs in the room (no screens). This wasn't a huge deal as I'm not really squeamish. Just smashed them with a towel, no biggie. The issue came, however, after I took a nice relaxing bubble bath... Arachnophobes, beware. I'm from New England where we get very large spiders year round (winter excluded). I'm used to seeing these creatures, but nonetheless have a stupid fear. Well... I came out of the bathroom to get my nightgown to find a VERY large (size of the bottom of a Coke can!!) and poisonous wolf spider on the inside of the skylight. I had to call my father for assistance to kill it as I did not want to get bitten and he is more familiar with disposing of these things. I highly suggest putting in screens in the windows to avoid a guest being bitten by a nasty bug. If I had been, I would've had to go to the hospital for some antibiotics as these spiders leave a necrotic spot. Breakfast was half an hour late (we ordered for 8:15) and was poorly managed/done. My dad ordered poached eggs that came out hard boiled. He asked for some new ones and in a few minutes they came out just fine. The black pudding, however, was quite strange--the cook left the plastic wrap on. When the waitress was asked why they cook the plastic, she just said, "that's how we do it here! We've always done it like that. Just cook the plastic right in!" Ummmm... The morning cleaning staff was pretty rude, however, and refused to speak to me. Quite odd for such a friendly place! Nice country stay with lots of summer bugs and mediocre breakfast. Next time, we'll be staying in Newcastle!

Carraw Bed and Breakfast replied: Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We are sorry to read your negative comments, which appear to dominate the review and would have been grateful if you raised these on departure. We were pleased that the first impressions promised a pleasant and enjoyable stay but this seems to not be the case and are sorry that you considered our cleaning staff rude, this is something we have not experienced in the past so can only apologise. We are aware that in the summer that rooms can be of interest to some of our wildlife, particularly “bugs” therefore we suggest that guests do not leave windows wide open when not in the room. This is highlighted in the guest information book, especially if a light is planned to be left on. We have not fitted screens to windows as we do not suffer the same experience of “bugs” as experienced in other countries. However, we must admit that seeing a "wolf spider" would be a first, considering it is not native to the UK and usually found commonly in the USA. We also believe that all the spiders in the UK are non-venomous so any trip to a hospital would be unnecessary. In relation to breakfast, as outlined on your check in we do not operate on serving times but arrival times in the dining area (like most restaurants) and once guest have arrived the food is cooked and prepared to allow you to enjoy the items from the cold buffet and subsequently your main course will arrive once you have finishing sampling the cold buffet items. We were sorry that this did not meet your expectations and you expected your cooked breakfast at 08:15 (when you arrived) and that the poached eggs were not to your liking. On speaking to the staff on duty that day and as you alluded to in your review the issue with the poached eggs seems to have been resolved to your satisfaction. In relation to why the black pudding arrives wrapped is to ensure that the pudding stays in shape due to its consistency and we are informed is perfectly safe to cook that way. Regards Kevin and Leah.

Carraw B&B on Twitter


https://images.visitnorthumberland.com/Carraw-Bed-and-Breakfast/vn-medium-The-Farmhouse-and-Lodge.jpghttps://images.visitnorthumberland.com/Carraw-Bed-and-Breakfast/vn-medium-The-Farmhouse-and-Lodge.jpgrelax@carraw.co.uk

Photo: https://images.visitnorthumberland.com/Carraw-Bed-and-Breakfast/vn-medium-The-Farmhouse-and-Lodge.jpg

URL: http://www.carraw.co.uk


Search for accommodation

Search for things to do

Search for events

Sign up for our newsletter


Tourist Information Centres in Northumberland
Late availability noticeboard